Journal of East China Normal University(Educationa ›› 2015, Vol. 33 ›› Issue (4): 94-98.doi: 10.16382/j.cnki./000-5560.2015.04.014

• Educational History(教育史) • Previous Articles     Next Articles

The Study on the Studying Order of in “Four Books”

QU Bo   

  1. Department of Education,East China Normal University
  • Online:2015-12-20 Published:2016-01-26
  • Contact: QU Bo
  • About author:QU Bo

Abstract: Since the formation of namely “Four Books”, the studying order of Mencius in “Four Books” has experienced several changes. Zhu Xi regulated Mencius as the “third order” in the “Four Books”, then in the imperial examination system, Mencius lied in the “fourth order”, afterwards, Mencius’s order experienced changes in the process of modern education transformation. Every change was affected not only by the educational system and policies, but also by people’s understanding of the difficulties of the Great Learning, the Doctrine of the Mean, the Analects of Confucius and Mencius, as well as the considerations on studying demand of these “Four Books”. In this process, the characteristics of Mencius attracted different degree of attention, and the studying order of Mencius has become a key influcing the studying order of the whole “Four Books”.