Loading...

Table of Content

    20 May 2020, Volume 38 Issue 5 Previous Issue    Next Issue
    For Selected: Toggle Thumbnails
    Educating Students for Their Future, Rather than Our Past
    Andreas Schleicher
    2020, 38 (5):  1-21.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.001
    Abstract ( 472 )   HTML ( 625 )   PDF (1145KB) ( 575 )   Save
    This chapter reviews some of the changes in the demand for knowledge and skills that are placed on young people to be successful in their future, and then examines what this entails for teaching, teachers and the work organisation in education. The chapter also acknowledges that the laws, regulations, structures and institutions on which educational leaders tend to focus are just like the small visible tip of an iceberg. The reason why it is so hard to move school systems is that there is a much larger invisible part under the waterline. This invisible part is about the interests, beliefs, motivations and fears of the people who are involved in education, parents and teachers included. To address this, the final part of the chapter examines issues around the political economy of changes in education to facilitate this, including incentives to encourage innovation and the need to redesign assessment.
    References | Related Articles | Metrics
    New Findings in Reading Literacy Assessment among Students in the Four Provinces/Municipalities of China in PISA 2018
    Chen Chunjin
    2020, 38 (5):  22-62.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.002
    Abstract ( 543 )   HTML ( 420 )   PDF (5176KB) ( 616 )   Save
    Adolescents’ reading literacy is affected by both ascribed and self-achieved characteristics,while the research on the heterogeneity effects of the ascribed and self-achieved factors is insufficient. Based on the data from Programme for International Student Assessment (PISA) in the four provinces/municipalities of Beijing, Shanghai, Jiangsu and Zhejiang in 2018, this paper used the methods of Shapley value decomposition, quantile regression model, and structural equation model, aimed to examine the impact of ascribed and self-achieved factors on students’ reading literacy. The study finds that: (1) the effect of ascribed factors on the students’ reading literacy is significantly lower than the self-achieved factors. Using effective reading meta-cognitive strategies, keeping positive self-expectations and strong enjoyment of reading are the key elements of higher reading performance of students in the four provinces/municipalities of China. (2) The impact of family background on students’ reading literacy is heterogeneous at different stages of education, different types of schools, and different regions. (3) Self-achieved factors such as meta-cognitive strategies and reading enjoyment are more significant for students’ reading performance in upper secondary level, vocational schools, and rural areas. (4) The effects of family background on students’ reading literacy in different quantiles is lower at both ends and higher at the middle, especially for students in the 50th quantile who have the greatest influence on reading literacy. (5) Compared to understanding and remembering strategies and summarizing strategies, assess credibility strategies had a higher positive effect on students’ reading literacy in low quantiles. (6) Obsessed with digital reading or paranoid about printed reading is not the most effective reading habit. Read books equally often in paper format and on digital devices were more conducive to improving students’ reading literacy, and significantly reduced the effects of family background. These findings indicate that the key to improving adolescents’ reading literacy lies in cultivating adolescents to grasp diversified meta-cognitive strategies, strengthen the construction of communities with home-school cooperation, and promote the deep integration of digital reading and printed reading.
    References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Learning Beyond School Walls in Times of Inequality
    Yang Po
    2020, 38 (5):  63-77.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.003
    Abstract ( 280 )   HTML ( 141 )   PDF (1044KB) ( 490 )   Save
    Against the background of the parallel development of economic inequality, equalization of compulsory education, and growth of online technology, private tutoring enters a new era, characterized by extensive and intensive household participation. It has gradually transformed into a new form of out-of-school learning, provided by the government and the market. Such learning activities are governed by micro-, meso-, and macro-level factors. There are three new trends in this field. First, the equalization policy for basic education and the stratification strategy for tertiary education have jointly pushed the basic education competition out of the school wall. Second, income inequality forces parents to increase their time and financial inputs, and thus the intensive parenting spreads out globally. Third, internet technology removes household’s barriers to participate in after-school learning, and increase their choice. The interactions among the policy, the culture, and the technology facilitate the institutionalization of learning beyond school walls. One significant consequence of such transformation is that the low-level equilibrium, characterized by high within school competition, low outside-school competition, and low-level private tutoring, is replaced by a new high-level equilibrium, characterized by low within school competition, high outside-school competition, and high-level private tutoring. In the post-tutoring era, learning beyond school walls is turning into a major instrument for social mobility and stratification. As such, the government needs to adjust its understanding and take the responsibility of closing the class divide in out-of-school learning opportunities.
    References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Online Tutoring or Offline Tutoring: Evidence from Family Decisions on Private Tutoring
    Tang Rongrong
    2020, 38 (5):  78-92.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.004
    Abstract ( 312 )   HTML ( 140 )   PDF (791KB) ( 361 )   Save
    Today, with the institutionalization of shadow education, it is common for pupils to attend supplementary lessons, but the existing literature lacks discussion on the forms of tutoring. This article focuses on famil’s choice of the forms of tutoring, trying to explore the relationship between online tutoring and offline tutoring. The analysis of China Family Online Tutoring Survey conducted by CIEFR in 2018 indicates that, on the one hand, online tutoring and offline tutoring, as supplementary education choices, are subjected to parent’ education levels and expectations. On the other hand, some factors with significant impact on offline tutoring have no significant effect on online tutoring, mainly in terms of distance and income. This reflects the fact that online tutoring can reduce transportation costs and search costs, thereby lowering the threshold of household tutoring consumption and making the distribution of educational resources less uneven. Further analysis shows that, pupils participating in offline tutoring are more likely to attend online tutoring as well, both from a financial-constraint and a demand-satisfaction perspective. In other words, when parents make their tutoring decisions, they do not choose between offline and online . Instead, they choose both, which confirms the popularization of private tutoring.
    References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Does Private Tutoring Help High School Students Gain Higher Education Opportunity?
    Xue Haiping, Zhao Yang
    2020, 38 (5):  93-102.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.005
    Abstract ( 380 )   HTML ( 139 )   PDF (792KB) ( 307 )   Save
    Based on the four-year mixed cross-section data of the Peking University Chinese Family Tracking Survey in 2010, 2012, 2014, and 2016, a structural equation model was used to test the intermediary effect of private tutoring and the quality of general high schools between family capital and higher education opportunities. The findings show that: (1) participating in private tutoring can help high school students get into college, but it cannot help them to further into undergraduate colleges; studying in general high schools with high teaching quality can help high school students go to college and get into undergraduate college; (2) high school students’ participation in private tutoring and school quality differences play a part of the intermediary role between family capital and whether they are admitted to university. The intermediary role of participating in private tutoring is slightly greater than that of school quality differences; The difference in school quality between general high schools played an intermediary role between family capital and whether they were promoted to undergraduate colleges, while private tutoring did not play an intermediary role between family capital and whether they were promoted to undergraduate colleges.
    References | Related Articles | Metrics
    In-school or Out-of-school: Household Spending on Children’s Basic Education in China
    Wei Yi
    2020, 38 (5):  103-116.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.006
    Abstract ( 543 )   HTML ( 127 )   PDF (738KB) ( 962 )   Save
    Using national data from 2017 CIEFR-HS, we first examine the full cost of household expenditure on children’s education and the structure of in-school and out-of-school education expenditure. Second, we take advantage of the detailed information about household education expenditures, including those that occurred within and outside schools, to examine how families’ marginal propensity to spend on education-related items and activities varies across household income, mother’s education level, and residency groups. On average, families spend over 10000 yuan on education per student per academic year, covering about 16% of annual household consumption. About one-third of the household spending on education is spent outside school. The analysis of the marginal propensity to spend on education shows that families with higher income, families with better educated mothers, families with only one girl, and families with urban hukou tend to increase their spending on education when the total household consumption increases, especially on in-school developmental spending and private supplementary education. In conclusion, the level and structure of in-school and out-of-school spending for children from different families have become more stratified.
    References | Related Articles | Metrics
    Textual Research and Explanation of “Textbook”
    Wu Xiao'ou
    2020, 38 (5):  117-126.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.007
    Abstract ( 366 )   HTML ( 112 )   PDF (769KB) ( 473 )   Save
    In 1866, ‘text-book’ was first introduced into China in the English and Chinese Dictionary edited by a German missionary Wilhelm Lobscheid, but it was not translated to ‘Jiaokeshu’. The Chinese word ‘Jiaokeshu’ appeared in the Meiji Restoration period of Japan and was introduced to China by Huang Zunxian in the Annals of Japan in 1887. In 1896, Kang Youwei listed 59 textbooks in the Bibliography of Japan. In 1899, Bai Zuolin, a normal university student of Nanyang Mission College, wrote an article named Advice on Compiling Textbooks. At the beginning of the 20th century, textbooks became the major concern of China’s educational reform. Luo Zhenyu, Xia Xiefu, Yan Fu, Zhang Zhidong, and others held a special discussion on textbook system and its implementation. A series of folk textbooks were published. In 1904, a textbook review and approval system was established. The popularity of the word ‘Jiaokeshu’ in China is a sign of cultural progress, which highlights the value and growing space of modern education. ‘Jiao’ emphasizes the method, order and volumn of teaching, ‘Ke’ stresses the classification, system and arrangement of knowledge, and ‘Shu’ clarifies the style, norms and copyright of compilation. ‘Jiaokeshu’, as a conceptual tool and ideological resource, determines the logical relation of the essence by its literal meaning. It sets a clear boundary, norm and framework for modern education. It has also laid down a new ‘cultural infrastructure’ for Chinese society and become the keyword of modern China’s enlightenment.
    References | Related Articles | Metrics

Please wait a minute...

当期目录

    2020年, 第38卷, 第5期 刊出日期:2020-05-20 上一期    下一期
    全选选: 隐藏/显示图片
    特稿
    教育面向学生的未来,而不是我们的过去
    [德]安德烈亚斯·施莱希尔(Andreas Schleicher)
    2020 (5):  1-21.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.001
    摘要 ( 372 )   HTML ( 623 )   PDF(1145KB) ( 391 )  
    本文首先回顾年轻人为获取未来成功所需要的知识和技能的一些变化,然后探讨其对教学、教师和教育工作组织的影响。本文认为,教育领导者倾向于关注的法律、法规、结构和制度只是冰山一角。改革学校系统的困难之处在于冰山位于水面之下更大且看不见的那一部分,这一无形的部分便是包括家长和教师在内的所有教育参与者的利益、信念、动机和不安。为解决这一问题,本文还探讨了如何围绕教育改革的政治经济背景来推动问题的解决,包括鼓励创新的激励措施和重新设计测评的必要性。
    参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
    PISA 2018
    PISA 2018中国四省市学生阅读素养研究新发现
    陈纯槿
    2020 (5):  22-62.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.002
    摘要 ( 259 )   HTML ( 409 )   PDF(5176KB) ( 287 )  
    青少年阅读素养的形成与发展受到先赋性因素与自致性因素的共同影响,但对于先赋性因素与自致性因素影响效应的异质性的研究近乎阙如。基于我国北京、上海、江苏和浙江四省市学生参加的国际学生评估项目(PISA 2018)测试数据,本研究运用夏普里值分解方法、分位数回归模型以及结构方程模型,考察比较先赋性因素与自致性因素对我国四省市学生阅读素养的影响,进而对这两类因素的影响效应进行异质性检验。研究发现:(1)家庭经济社会文化背景、性别等先赋性因素对我国四省市学生阅读素养的影响总体上低于阅读元认知策略、自我教育期望等自致性因素。运用有效的阅读元认知策略、抱持较高的自我教育期望以及强烈的阅读兴趣,是我国四省市学生阅读素养表现卓越的三个关键要素。(2)家庭经济社会文化背景对学生阅读素养的影响在不同教育阶段、不同性质学校及不同地区存在异质性,表现为家庭背景对初中阶段、全日制普通中学、城市的学生阅读素养成绩产生更大的边际影响。(3)阅读元认知策略、阅读兴趣等自致性因素对高中阶段、职业中学、农村的学生阅读素养表现更为重要。(4)家庭经济社会文化背景对不同分位数上的学生阅读素养的影响呈“两端低、中间高”的特征,特别是对于50分位数上的学生阅读素养的影响最大。(5)相较于阅读理解与记忆策略和阅读信息概述策略,阅读信息评鉴策略对低分位点上的学生阅读素养有更强烈的正向影响。(6)沉迷数字阅读抑或纸质阅读频率过高都不是最有效的阅读方式,纸质阅读与数字阅读频率相当的阅读方式更有利于提高学生阅读素养,而且后者显著降低了因家庭背景不同而导致的阅读素养成绩差异。上述发现表明提高我国青少年阅读素养的关键在于结合学生背景特征制定多样化的阅读能力培养方式和提升策略,重点培养青少年在阅读元认知策略上的运用能力,加强家校合作育人共同体建设,引导青少年树立积极的自我教育期望,激发学生自主参与阅读的兴趣,促进数字阅读与纸质阅读的深度融合。
    参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
    影子教育
    经济不平等时代的校外教育参与
    杨钋
    2020 (5):  63-77.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.003
    摘要 ( 207 )   HTML ( 138 )   PDF(1044KB) ( 218 )  
    在经济不平等、基础教育均衡化和“互联网+教育”并行发展的背景下,校外补习进入新阶段,其特征是广泛参与和深入参与。校外补习逐步发展为政府和市场共同提供的校外教育活动,这些活动受到微观、中观和宏观三个层次因素的影响。当前校外教育领域出现三大趋势:一是基础教育均衡化政策和高等教育的分层发展战略促使基础教育竞争从校内转向校外;二是经济不平等的环境中,父母加大了对校外教育的参与,密集化育儿文化出现并广为扩散;三是互联网等技术的普及消除了校外补习的有限参与障碍,拓宽了家庭教育选择的范围。政策—文化—技术的互动促使家庭的校外教育活动参与日趋制度化。其后果是基础教育从“高校内竞争、低校外竞争,低补习参与”的低水平均衡转化为“低校内竞争、高校外竞争、高补习参与”的高水平均衡。在后补习时代,校外教育活动逐步成为社会分层与流动的主要工具。政府应调整对校外教育的认识,承担起弥合校外教育参与的阶层差异的责任。
    参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
    线上补习还是线下补习:基于家庭补习决策的分析
    唐荣蓉
    2020 (5):  78-92.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.004
    摘要 ( 226 )   HTML ( 138 )   PDF(791KB) ( 225 )  
    在影子教育逐步制度化的今天,学生参与课外补习常态化,但现有文献缺乏对补习形式的讨论。本文聚焦于家庭对补习形式的选择,试图探索线上补习和线下补习在家庭消费中的互动关系。基于2018年中国教育财政科学研究所“全国家庭线上补习调查”数据的分析表明:线上补习和线下补习作为家庭的教育选择,都会受到父母受教育程度、教育期望等因素的影响;部分对线下补习决策存在显著影响的因素对线上补习的作用并不显著,主要表现在距离和收入方面,这反映出线上补习能够降低交通成本和搜寻成本,进而降低家庭教育消费的门槛,缓解校外教育资源分布的不均。对线下补习和线上补习之间关系的研究发现,不论是从成本约束的视角来看,还是从需求满足的视角来看,参与线下补习的家庭都更有可能参与线上补习。换言之,家庭在做出补习决策时,往往是线下线上两手抓,这为课外补习的普及化提供了又一支持性证据。
    参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
    高中生参加课外补习有助于考大学吗?
    薛海平, 赵阳
    2020 (5):  93-102.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.005
    摘要 ( 265 )   HTML ( 137 )   PDF(792KB) ( 217 )  
    本文基于北京大学中国家庭追踪调查2010年、2012年、2014年和2016年的混合截面数据,采用结构方程模型检验了普通高中生的课外补习参与和高中学校质量在家庭资本与高等教育机会获得之间的中介效应。结论显示:(1)参加课外补习能帮助高中生升入大学,但不能助其进一步升入本科高校;就读于教学质量较高的普通高中既能帮助高中生上大学,也能助其升入本科高校;(2)高中生的课外补习参与和学校质量差异在家庭资本与是否升入大学之间均起到了部分中介作用,参加课外补习的中介作用略大于学校质量差异的中介作用;(3)普通高中的学校质量差异在家庭资本与是否升入本科高校之间发挥了中介作用,而课外补习参与在家庭资本与是否升入本科高校之间没有发挥中介作用。
    参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
    校内还是校外:中国基础教育阶段家庭教育支出现状研究
    魏易
    2020 (5):  103-116.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.006
    摘要 ( 325 )   HTML ( 123 )   PDF(738KB) ( 380 )  
    本文基于2017中国教育财政家庭调查数据,对我国基础教育阶段家庭子女教育支出水平和结构进行刻画,并聚焦于家庭的收入水平和家庭子女教育支出的关系,分析不同社会经济背景、子女结构和户籍的家庭对子女校内和校外各类教育活动的边际消费倾向。总体上,中小学每生每年的家庭教育支出超过1万元,占家庭总支出的16%,其中校外支出占到三分之一。分别有38%和21%的中小学生在过去一学年参加过校外补习和兴趣班。对家庭校内和校外教育支出的边际消费倾向的分析表明,社会经济背景更好的家庭对子女的校内和校外投入都更高。随着家庭收入的增加,社会经济背景较低的家庭更加倾向于增加子女校内的支出,尤其是校内基础性的支出;而社会经济背景较好的家庭更加倾向于增加校外教育支出,以及校内的发展性、增值性支出。与中等和高收入家庭相比,低收入家庭对子女的校内和校外教育投入不足。此外,本文发现独生子女家庭中女孩家庭对孩子的校内拓展性和校外兴趣类的教育投入要高于男孩家庭。
    参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标
    基本理论与基本问题
    “教科书”考释
    吴小鸥
    2020 (5):  117-126.  doi: 10.16382/j.cnki.1000-5560.2020.05.007
    摘要 ( 193 )   HTML ( 111 )   PDF(769KB) ( 277 )  
    1866年,德国传教士罗存德在《英华字典》中首次将“text-book”引入中国,但未对译为“教科书”。汉语“教科书”一词出现在日本明治维新时期,1887年由黄遵宪在《日本国志》传入中国。1896年,康有为在《日本书目志》中列有教科书59种。1899年,南洋公学师范生白作霖撰《编译教科书的意见》,倡议译日本教科书并修改之。20世纪初,罗振玉、夏偕复、严复、张之洞等人专题探讨教科书制度及其实施,坊间教科书系列出版,1904年教科书审定制确立。“教科书”一词在中国流行是文化进步的标志,彰显了现代教育的价值诉求与生长空间。“教”突出教授方法、次序、容量,“科”强调知识分类、体系、编排,“书”明确编撰体例、规范、版权。“教科书”作为概念工具与思想资源,以其字义决定内质的逻辑关联,为现代教育设定了明确边界、框架、规范,也为中国社会奠下全新的“文化基层建构”,成为现代中国启蒙的关键词。
    参考文献 | 相关文章 | 计量指标